Race Report - 11 June 2016

Round 4 of the WPMC Motocross championship as well as round 3 of the Western Cape Club Championships were held at Killarney on Saturday 11 June 2016.

Race day started off with a bang as James Rodger got the whole shot in the over 35’s 125cc class. But Alec Combrink, current championship leader, soon took the lead and won convincingly with Dax Hunt and Terence Monk finishing in second and third position.

This was followed by the junior classes.  James Gordon, 8 years old, dominated the 50cc newbie class, while Neil van den Vyver  took a very comfortable win in the 50cc Pro class. Neil currently leads the National Championship in his class.

Young Lucca Mynhardt provided for some excitement in the 65cc/85cc combined class as he took the wholeshot in heat 1, beating the 85cc riders on his little 65cc machine.  But it was Liam “Leeu” Lambert, who took the overall win while Calum Marriott won both heats in the 85cc class.  The Pro mini class was won by Justin Sangster, who is currently lying 3rd in the National Championship.

However, the battle of the day took place in the 125cc High School class between Brandan Botha, and Brett Roberts fighting for 2nd and 3rd.  Finishing in first place though was Seth van den Abeele, the former PE rider,  who is currently unbeatable in this class.

In the Vintage Motorcycles, heat 1 was dominated by the Roger family, with Brendan Rodger taking a win on his 1986 Honda 500, closely followed by Tom and Aiden Rodger.  However, in heat 2, Adrian de Hutton took the whole shot while both Brendan and Tom Rodger had some bad luck. In the end it was Aiden Rodger who took the overall win for the day in this class as well as the Senior Support class.

Terence Monk took honours in the MX3 class, but it was the battle between Alec Combrink and Dax Hunt that had spectators on their feet.   However,  a clash between the two of them resulted in Mathew King and George Liebchen taking 2nd and 3rd position.

The MX2 class was one by Seth van den Abeele, followed by Keegan Barnard and Tom Rodger. Dylan Donald gave a very solid performance in the MX1 Class. But it was Anthony Raynard, the current National leader in this class that finished both heats in first place, with Dylan finishing second followed by Brendan Rodger. 

The next Motocross race at Killarney will take place on 10 September 2016.

Youth Day